Si vos es validus ut lego is, vos es super erudio

Get Bigsibling bling and wares (more added soon!)
Crescent of Betrayal Blogroll
Archives
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Topeka Bloggers

PPP Direct


Locations of visitors to this page
Auction Ads
Kansas Bloggers
Foehammer’s suspsicions confirmed
January 23rd, 2008 under Censorship, Dangerous Computer Stuff. [ Comments: 1 ]

For those of you who enjoy reading the entertaining anti Islamic-supremacist crusader (oh, is that offensive?) Foehammer over at Foehammer’s Anvil blog, you’ll know he has had a recent rash of problems with his web server host. It’s been his contention all along that there are folks who are trying to shut him down. A recent message from his hosting company has confirmed his suspicions.

“This should satisfy all that are wondering what has been going on with the hosting here at the Anvil. I finally received an email from a LunarPages admin that actually knows how to do her job. Not surprisingly, her name is something that I can actually pronounce and most likely doesn’t belong to a Muslim convert. What follows is an edited version of the response, but you will now see that I have absolute proof that the Leftofascists and Islamofascists have been hard at work tying to shut me up. I’ve been telling LunarPages to check for ddos attacks for weeks; someone finally listened:

Hi,

Our admin has moved your account to a quieter server whilst the issues are worked out with regards to your CPU /MEM usage which is why your main page is back online.

This server has fewer customers and is less likely to crash in the event of attacks or high usage.

I have checked back through the last 6,000 lines of your domlogs for foehammer.net on it’s present server

It has indeed been hit by a flurry of ddos attempts:

This IP has almost 500 hits to your domain and is now blocked in the severs firewall:

(Hits: 467) #.#.#.# (netvigator Hong Kong)

There were also hits in the 100 to 300 from other ISP’s.

I then went on to check the pages hit by this IP and it is apparent that this attacker was angered by a post on there with regards to the criticism of obamas muslim background being justified as almost every single hit was to this article:

#.#.#.# - - [22/Jan/2008:22:37:33 -0800] “http://foehammer.net/2007/12/ criticism-of-obamas-muslim-background-is-absolutely-justified.html” “Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1; SV1; .NET CLR 1.1.4322)”

To overcome this I have now (edited out).

Your current usage is down today and this is before I installed the script, hopefully we will see this greatly reduced in the next 24 hours.

This “quieter server” is obviously a snail and unacceptable. I’m hopeful that once some protections are put into place that I might actually want to blog again.

To those that might think switching hosts is no big deal, I’m afraid you do not understand that I am being caught in this treadmill at the worst possible time for me personally, so yes, switching the Anvil to a new host is a very, very big deal — to me. Beyond that, the Anvil is not a virtual sheet of paper. It is a heavily customized blog and setting it all up again on a new host would take many hours of intense work that I think I made clear around the New Year definitely wasn’t what I wanted to be dealing with in 2008.

D–nit, at this point I do not even want to blog. Can anyone really blame me? Just look at the economy, the Presidential campaign, the continued rocket attacks into Gaza, the Stock Market being bought up by greedy Arab Oil Barons, and on and on and on.

Frankly, too much of what I’ve been predicting all these years keeps happening and it looks like we’re going to elect a President that won’t make things better, more likely far worse, in fact. Blogging to a few hundred awake readers and spending 40+ hours a week doing that is no longer an option for me. I have to start circling the wagons. I suggest many of you do the same.

This latest round of attacks on my Free Speech simply puts the exclamation point at the end of every sentence I’ve been typing since 2003. Watch out! It looks like I’m not lobbing softballs around here to be getting this much unwanted attention.”

All this is reported at the 1389 blog, along with some other great stuff. Bigsibling certainly hopes that Foehammer gets his blog back onto an acceptable server as the information he passes on is certainly information worth having. As proven by the DDOS attacks on his site.

Technorati Tags: ,,,,,

del.icio.us Tags: ,,,,,

   Stumble it!
Botmaster should get maximum - but probably won’t
November 12th, 2007 under Crime, Dangerous Computer Stuff. [ Comments: none ]

Well, let’s just hope that this putz gets “the book” thrown at him. I’d personally like to see him get the maximum fine and prison time. Of course, with that much prison time, it is unlikely he would be able to pay the fine, but it would be nice for him to die in prison owing nearly $2 million in fines. But since he plead guilty instead of facing the music to a jury of his peers (or rather, normal folks like us), he is probably going to walk away with probably a few thousand dollar fine, and several years of probation only. The only way to get these people to stop stealing in this manner is to make the penalties of getting caught just not worth the crime.

‘Botmaster’ admits infecting 250,000 computers | Tech News on ZDNet

John Schiefer, 26, agreed to plead guilty to four counts of fraud and wiretap charges that could lead to a $1.75 million fine and send him to prison for up to 60 years, the Los Angeles U.S. Attorney’s office said.


Technorati Tags: , , ,

   Stumble it!
Impotent notice from you Bank!
July 16th, 2007 under Dangerous Computer Stuff. [ Comments: 3 ]

I received an email today, it seemed pretty important. It was from my bank. Never mind that it didn’t come to the email address I use for my bank, they seemed all flustered about my account information. I have posted it below. My comments are in the brackets (that’s [] thingys).

Dear Valued Customer : [They sent it to me, but the don’t know who I am?]

We are unable to activate your account because we have just upgraded our online security parameters to make your Bank [capital B? - when did ‘bank’ become a proper noun?] account and informations [more than one information mind you] more secured [notice secure is past-tense, what are they doing for me in the present?] from online frauds [multiple frauds, not just one, but MANY],so we request that you reconfirm your online Banking [is there such a thing as a proper verb?] details with the one [I have to supply details (plural) to confirm the one (singular) they have for me - man I really should have paid better attention in math class] we have on file before you will be able to send and receive money online.

Your account may be place [not placed?] on restricted status. Restricted accounts continue to receive payments, but they are limited in their ability to send or withdraw funds [should do wonders for my ability to save money then - THANKS!]. To lift this restriction [wait, you said it may be place on restricted status - now you’re saying it is place on restricted status? WTF?], you need to login into your account (with your username or SSN [my username or SSN? My own ‘Bank’ doesn’t know if they require a username or an SSN for logins? This is starting to sound a little fishy] and your password), then you have to complete our verification process. You must reconfirm your credit card details and your billing information as well. All restricted accounts have their billing information unconfirmed, meaning that you may no longer send money from your account until you have reconfirm your billing information on file.

Click here to Sign in to Online Banking to reactivate your Bank [again, when did ‘bank’ become a proper noun?] account now.

Thank You.

Well, thankfully, I was able to follow the link and put in Hillary Clinton’s information. I don’t really care about my account, but I would hate for her account to be frozen like that!

   Stumble it!
New virus hiding as IE7 download
March 30th, 2007 under Dangerous Computer Stuff. [ Comments: none ]

I’m just trying to spread the word here - I don’t do this much, but I believe this to be very important

Trojan masquerades as IE 7 downloads by ZDNet’s Ryan Naraine — Spammers are using fake Internet Explorer 7 (Beta 2) downloads to lure Windows users into downloading a nasty backdoor Trojan. The fake downloads are part of a massive spam run that includes an official-looking graphic (see image below) linked to Web sites that auto-launch an executable named “ie7.exe.” A copy of this spam that landed in my […]

Technorati Tags: , , ,

   Stumble it!

 

Search bigsibling.com

Global Voices: The World is Talking, Are You Listening?
About
Bigsibling lives in northeastern Kansas with is wife and three children.

He works for a living and enjoys the fruits of his labors.

He is a contributing writer to Exposing 'Rev.' Sutter
Blogs I like to read (in no particular order)
Count Ramblings
Captain Dramatics's Mom
Foehammer's Anvil
Jihad Watch
Lady Predator
SoHos
Military Mom
Atlas Shrugs
All Aboard
Recent Posts
Recent Commentors
ADVERTS
Help a poor guy with a disabled wife and three kids. Please visit my sponsors!
Anti-PC Blogroll
Anti-PC League